The Effortless Way Writers Can Generate New Content Ideas

Celia Fidalgo, PhD
5 min readAug 20, 2023
Photo by Te Pania ♡ on Unsplash

For a long time, the biggest reason I wasn’t writing online was that I didn’t know what to write about.

There were so many barriers:

  • What topics should I write about?
  • How do I find new ideas?
  • What unique perspective do I bring?

I knew what topics I enjoyed: psychology, habit building, personal productivity. But these topics have been beaten to death online.

So how could I write something new?

The perspective shift that changed everything

I started out my writing journey on Quora (and wrote about it below).

On Quora, users ask questions and writers respond. Answers get upvoted, shared, and promoted to other people asking the same question.

The magic of Quora was the ability to browse specific questions.

Questions are submitted by real people. They represented a variety of pain points on every topic…

--

--

Celia Fidalgo, PhD

Head of Product @ Cambridge Cognition, Behavioral Scientist @ Irrational Labs, PhD in psych, I help people apply the science of psychology to daily life.